Tullibardine (Tayside) 2008

2nd/3rd August

Full Results (.pdf file)

The Tullibardine (formerly Tayside Open) was shot over the weekend of 2nd/3rd August at Jubilee Range. At 500yds there was very heavy rain, and further rain for part of 600yds. 400yds was shot in fine weather. The rain would have caused some cancellation (as last year) had it not been for the gazebos. Now who says they were expensive? Despite the forecast, Sunday was dry. Wind was minimal on Saturday and scores were high. On Sunday it was not much more, but very changing and many got caught at some time.

Richard Scott dropped only 3 points over the weekend to clean up A Class, except for QI (Home Guard Cup) which was taken by Tim Kidner. Pete Dingle took every trophy in B Class-QI, QII, Saturday Agg, QIII and Grand Agg. Tim Kidner again won the Munro Targe (3yr Agg.).

In TR/F Paul Crosbie won QI, Jim McCall won QII and the Saturday Agg, but Paul shot a very good QIII to take the Grand Agg, having dropped only two points over the weekend.

In Open F Class Hugh Inglis shot very well on Saturday to take QI, QII and the Agg. but on Sunday Des Parr shot an excellent 85 at 900 in a difficult wind, 6 points ahead of the next shooter and 10 points ahead of Hugh, to help him take the QIII and Grand Agg.

The team trophy (TR only) was won by West Atholl.

This competition started life 99 years ago as the Perthshire Open. Ideas as to how we mark the centenary in 2009 will be welcomed. Suggestions so far include a dinner at Blair Castle, and a competition using the Atholl Highlanders' Lee-Metfords (perhaps to replace the fund-raising shoot, as we have plenty of time on the Sunday-but perhaps not at 1,000yds!).


Tim Kidner again won the Triple Aggregate and receives the Munro Targe from the donor
Pete Dingle with part of his clean sweep of B Class
The winners of almost everything wait patiently (?) for their next call to the podium
Paul Crosbie was the overall winner in F/TR, after a strong challenge from Jim McCall
Des Parr was the overall F Class winner, despite Hugh Inglis winning everything on Saturday
Pete Dingle receives the Kinnoull Cup
WARC Captain James Bell, who organised and ran the whole weekend, notes that WARC won the Major F B Smith Team Trophy
Richard Scott looks pleased, as well he might, having won everything in A Class except the QI

© 2000 - West Atholl Rifle Club. All rights reserved.